Liberty Bell Open 2011

43rd Liberty Bell Open
January 14-17, 2011

The 43rd Annual Liberty Bell Open took place over the Martin Luther King weekend from January 14-17, 2011, at the Sheraton City Center Hotel, Philadelphia.

Four players tied for 1st in the Open Section, GMs Alex Shabalov and Sergey Kudrin, IM Marc Esserman and FM Farai Mandizha, who each finished with 5½ points. Esserman had a half-point lead going into the final round but a loss to Kudrin made way for the four-way tie. Shabalov collected $1,183, which included the bonus money for finishing with the better tie-breaks, while Kudrin, Esserman and Mandizha all collected $1,062.

The prize fund for the event was increased by 21% thanks to a great turn out and benefitting most from that were the other sections winners: Jared Defibaugh (U2300), Danny Rade (U2100), Sundar Swaminathan (U1900), Catlan McClelland (U1700), Stanley Feldman (U1500), Sylvester Whittington (U1300), David Blocker (U1100) and Teague Eppright (U900).

Please select from one of the following links to get more information regarding the 2011 Liberty Bell Open:

Liberty Bell Open Archives | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011